Dan’s Diary, The Last Day – Italian food in the French Quarter, Ko-Mex Tacos and Sad Goodbyes

Day 10

It’s drawing to a close, and I’ll miss Korea, not least of all because I have found so many culinary delights on this trip, far more than ever before.  I’ll miss old friends, new friends, and take away lots of positives for Korea Foods UK.  In truth, it’s been one of my favourite trips out to Korea, but as always, I’ll be looking forward to touching down in Heathrow.  My only culinary delights left will be a breakfast at the hotel, followed by airplane food, so I doubt I’ll have too much to say on that.

Anyway, today’s feast was Italian.  The last time I ate proper Italian in Korea, it was a pretty embarrassing experience.  It was like a Korean impression of what they “thought” Italian should taste like, with no care for what Italian “actually” tastes like.  Out with Jeremy from Lion TV, Gizzi Erskine, Adam Hobbs (www.adamhobbs.tv – you have to check out the quality of this guy’s work), Sue Ahn, and my cousin Joe, we lunched out in style in the “French Quarter” of Seoul.

Our party had decided to order a variety of dishes, so we could share a bit of each dish between us all.  The starter was this gorgonzola pastry dish that took us all aback.  It looked messy, it was messy, but tasted amazing.  The gorgonzola didn’t overpower it, and the pastry was super-light and crispy.

1

This was followed by a citrus salad that had a gungey glutinous rice base that was out of this world.

2

The pasta dishes were inventive or simply well-cooked pasta that was full of flavour.  My fave was this Korean inspired Pollack Pasta with a raw yolk that you had to mix into the pasta that was nothing like I’ve had before.

3Although the mushroom parpadele was mighty fine too, and erm, so was the chorizo penne…

4

Despite my initial fears, my confidence in Seoul producing good food has increased massively and the choice is way more than ever before.

On to Vatos (my second visit of this tour) and this place seriously kicks ass.  We were joined by Joe from www.zenkimchi.com, a true purveyor of great Korean food in Seoul, and Gemma from the UK (fatgirlsfoodguide on Instagram) who had lived in Seoul for 6 years.  As I am told, the kimchi carnitas fries are seriously out of this world, and no joke, they were.  Seasoned French fries covered with braised pork carnitas, sautéed kimchi, melted cheese and topped with sour cream, Vatos hot sauce, cilantro and onion.

fries

@GizziErskine

Oh, and chilli shrimp tacos, and honey tequila wings.  I need these in London!!!!!  We all need a Vatos London!  A simply awesome take on Korean Mexican food.  http://vatoskorea.com/en

5

It can take a while to get seated if you go at peak time, but if you are in Itaewon in Seoul at any time, just visit this place.  Quite simply, you’d be insane not to.

The whole Korea trip has been insane and inspirational from a foodie perspective.  From traditional Korean food, to modern twists on Korean food, to fusion and then some outright great international food, Seoul has changed so much.  Considering where the food scene in Seoul was even just a few years ago, the standards are getting higher, it’s becoming more inventive, and it’s just so good.  Whilst the scene in London is far more mature, I truly think  the Korean food scene in London could be inspired further by what is happening out in Seoul and I look forward to getting back out there again to eat my way through Seoul again.

Just need to mentally prepare myself for the gym when I get back to London!!!

Leave a comment